Following a five-game improvement from the 2017 season, Napoleon saw a group of gridiron standouts earn recognition from the Northern Lakes League in their all-conference football awards.

Seniors Cody Butler and Mitch Kruse were first team honorees at center and defensive back, respectively, for the Wildcats.

Jarrett Gerdeman (running back), Kyle Rettig (defensive line), Angel Granados (linebacker) and Tate Rubinstein (linebacker) garnered second team nods while Andrew Warncke (quarterback), Noah Mack (offensive tackle), Ben Bostelman (offensive guard) and Ed Bump (defensive back) were named to the all-NLL third team.

Anthony Wayne quarterback Max Denman and Springfield QB AJ Gucciardo were named co-NLL Players of the Year.

All-NLL Football

First Team


Max Denman (Anthony Wayne); Ezra Scott (Anthony Wayne); Caleb Gerken (Perrysburg); Max Bradfield (Anthony Wayne); Devin Johnson (Springfield); Kyle Jackson (Bowling Green); Nate Stuckey (Springfield); Cade Zimmerly (Perrysburg); Mike Cousino (Anthony Wayne); Jayden Barton (Bowling Green); Nolan Barber (Anthony Wayne); Cody Butler (Napoleon); Luke Pawlak (Northview); Kyle Rhonehouse (Springfield); Trent Simms (Northview).


Max Fasnaugh (Bowling Green); Carl Conley (Perrysburg); Matt Fortner (Northview); Nolan Barber (Anthony Wayne); Ben Allen (Anthony Wayne); JT Hale (Springfield); Clay Denstorff (Perrysburg); Jacob Kirby (Anthony Wayne); Trent Simms (Northview); Ashton Helman (Springfield); Jacob Gordon (Anthony Wayne); Mitch Kruse (Napoleon).

Co-Players of the Year: Max Denman (Anthony Wayne); AJ Gucciardo (Springfield).

Second Team


AJ Gucciardo (Springfield); Jarrett Gerdeman (Napoleon); Adam Iler (Bowling Green); Ian Riddle (Perrysburg); Mason Alberts (Anthony Wayne); Parker McClure (Southview) Bruce Boyer (Anthony Wayne); Matt Fortner (Northview); Logan Whitson (Springfield); Carson Gulgin (Perrysburg); Jack Yates (Springfield); Carter Holck (Anthony Wayne); Blake Adams (Maumee); Luke Pawlak (Northview); Bryce Hoehner (Bowling Green).


Nolan Bishop (Anthony Wayne); Cortez McDyess (Springfield); Kyle Rettig (Napoleon); Cade Zimmerly (Perrysburg); Alex Yarrito (Southview); Angel Granados (Napoleon); Thomas Robinson (Springfield); Tate Rubinstein (Napoleon); Ian Riddle (Perrysburg); Brayden Dean-Scheele (Bowling Green); Jacob Neumeyer (Anthony Wayne); Matt Butler (Maumee); Trevor Kruszynski (Southview).

Third Team


Andrew Warncke (Napoleon); Brayton Schmidt (Southview); Josiah Pressley (Springfield); Nick Harshman (Southview); Jacob Spurgeon-Hess (Southview); Nick Kaufman (Anthony Wayne); AJ Bernsdorff (Northview); Luke Jaco (Perrysburg); Noah Mack (Napoleon); Josh Raimonden (Anthony Wayne); Ben Bostelman (Napoleon); Demetrios Rousos (Northview); Max Fasnaugh (Bowling Green); Matt Paul (Anthony Wayne); Joseph Geiger (Springfield).


Bryce Boyer (Anthony Wayne); Michael Cannon (Northview); Ethan Garee (Perrysburg); Izaiah Robinson (Maumee); Matt Avery (Bowling Green); Tyler Kristufek (Anthony Wayne); Ricci Torres (Bowling Green); Justin Behnfeldt (Maumee); Nick Prokup (Anthony Wayne); Ed Bump (Napoleon); Denzel Prince (Springfield); Haydn Smith (Perrysburg).

Load comments