ARCHBOLD — The Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Program was held this week, recognizing numerous students and their teachers at the Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center (NwOESC).

The program was established by the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) to promote and recognize outstanding academic achievement. One senior from each county in Ohio received this annual honor.

This scholarship award is named in honor of Dr. Franklin B. Walter, who served as state superintendent of education for Ohio from 1977-91.

Throughout his career, Walter exemplified concern for young people and dedicated his life to the improvement of education in Ohio.

Applicants were high school seniors enrolled in a public school district — local, city or exempted village — within the ESC’s service region. Recipients demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as indicated by high school grades, test scores, and school activities and awards. Educational service centers that are multi-county agencies selected one high school senior from each county in their service area.

One student from each county will be invited, along with his/her guests, to attend a special recognition luncheon at the Hilton Columbus/Polaris, 8700 Lyra Drive, Columbus.

The NwOESC, serving Defiance, Fulton, Henry and Williams counties, fully supports the Franklin B. Walter Program. However, it has expanded the recognition. Outstanding students in each district received a scholarship award of $200 each, while one county winner was awarded $500.

In addition, to promote teaching excellence along with student achievement, one teacher was recognized in each district. The applying student was asked to write a tribute to the teacher who has been the most positive influence on the student’s success in school. The NwOESC also honored a special education provider from each county for the work done on behalf of students with disabilities across northwest Ohio. Providers were nominated by area districts through a written process each January. Student scholarship winners and their honored teachers, and honored special education providers and their nominator were honored during the celebration.

Defiance County scholarship winners were Maggie Lenhart (Defiance), Hannah Horn (Tinora), county winner Angela Betz (Hicksville), Caleb Volz (Fairview) and Loryn Wright (Ayersville). Honored teachers were Hope Prigge (Tinora), John Davis (Hicksville), Eric Drummelsmith (Fairview), Don Hammersmith (Ayersville) and Kate Smolik (Defiance).

Fulton County scholarship winners were county winner Brendon Johns (Archbold), Brett Bettinger (Swanton), Sarah Schwan (Evergreen), Cassidy Vanderveer (Fayette), Alijah Lopez (Delta), Joshua Bock (Pettisville) and Christina Norman (Wauseon). Honored teachers were Brenda Beck (Archbold), Jay LeFevre (Swanton), Doug DeSloover (Evergreen), Pamela Schultz (Fayette), Stephanie Rayfield (Delta), Donna Meller (Pettisville) and Katie Miller (Wauseon).

Henry County scholarship winners were Abigayle Baker (Four County Career Center), Hannah Oberhaus (Liberty Center), Brice Prigge (Patrick Henry), county winner Erin Haase (Napoleon), and Grace Wenzinger (Holgate). Honored teachers were Sheryl Goonan (Four County Career Center), Jacob Rupp (Liberty Center), Jason Gubernath (Patrick Henry), Lindy Seagave (Napoleon) and Christine Yenser (Holgate).

Williams County scholarship winners were Kendra Blue (Edgerton), Faith Livensparger (Edon), Isaiah Taylor (Bryan), Aubrie Calvin (Hilltop), Erica Breier (Stryker), Brodie Mansur (North Central) and county winner Kimberly Engels (Montpelier). Honored teachers were Olivia Schaffner (Edgerton), Danielle Wolfe (Edon), Julie Cummins (Bryan), Cristin Hagans (Hilltop), Melanie Baldwin (Stryker), Greg Waidelich (North Central) and Lester Orndorff (Montpelier).

Special education honorees and nominators were Cathy Gribler (Independence Education Center), Julie Shawber (Henry County), Ashley Waterston (Williams County), Troy Merillat (IEC), Troy Slattman (IEC), Jamie Knueven (NwOESC), Andy Morr (Williams County), Dorothy Lambert and Mandy Tilton (Fulton County), Beth Hench and Lynette Hulbert (Defiance County).

Load comments