TIFFIN — Three area students were recently honored during Heidelberg University's annual student awards celebration. Students received their awards during the annual celebration of academic, athletic, service and leadership achievements among individual students, student organizations and faculty members.

Local students honored were:

Kaylea Bowers, Bryan, a senior majoring in communications, won the H. Dana Hopkins Award (communications, media or theatre).

Janet Miller, Bryan, a junior majoring in biology, won the Allen King Zartman Prize in biology.

Elyssa Williams, Deshler, a senior English major, wont the Fredrick D. Lemke Award in English. Williams was also on of 21 senior honors students who presented their capstone projects April 23-25. Williams presented "From Roots to Ends: Untangling Meaning through Black Hair."

Load comments