Division III and IV girls All-Ohio

By JASON STEIN cnsports@crescent-news.com Published:

With the state tournament just around the corner, the Division III and IV all-state teams were announced on Tuesday.

Archbold's Cassidy Wyse was rewarded for another fine season by being named to the Division III first team, Ottoville's Abby Siefker was recognized as the Division IV Player of the Year and her coach Dave Kleman took home co-Coach of the Year honors.

Delta's Brigan Wymer was named honorable mention in D-III.

In Division IV, Patrick Henry's Kelsey Tietje was on the second team while Miller City's Melissa Michel, Leipsic's Amber Gerdeman and Holgate's Marissa Myles earned D-IV honorable mention status.

Wyse helped lead the Streaks to a 25-2 record and a third-straight NWOAL title where the team swept through the conference, finishing 8-0.

"We had a great season because we have a lot of players contribute, it's just not Cassidy Wyse and that is what is so important to our team," stated Archbold coach Brian Ziegler. "Cassidy pushes her teammates and they push her to become better also. That is what being a leader is all about, and she doesn't mind leading."

The junior once again to be a threat in some way no matter where she was at on the court, finishing the regular season with an average of 14.1 points on 47 percent shooting from the field, 6.5 rebounds and 5.5 steals.

She also helped the team to a second-straight district title and a berth in the regional finals.

"Once Cassidy steps out on the floor she makes everyone else around her a better player," said Ziegler. "She is a complete player, and that is what is so important to our team is that she does many things well. Her love of the game is what makes it exciting to be her coach and the fact that she'll put the team first and winning is most important. She can hurt you with scoring, passing, rebounding and defense.

"Cassidy's work ethic is what makes her the special player she is. She shows up everyday to practice and gives the same effort everyone sees on game night. The other thing that makes her a special player is the way she studies our opponent and becomes a 'coach' on the floor on game nights. She has the skills but is also intelligent which is a great combination to have in a player."

Wyse is joined on the Division-III All-Ohio first team by Players of the Year Hannah Plybon (senior, Orrville), Terra Stapleton (junior, Fairland) and Africentric's Marley Hills (senior), as well as Kelsy Duger (Gilmour Acadamy), Abby Cash (Miami East) and Jessica Kinney of Martins Ferry.

Mike Coreno (Beachwood), Jon Buchanan (Proctorville Fairland) and Brenda Friend (Collins Western Reserve) were honored as the D-III Coaches of the Year.

Wymer (21 ppg, 6.5 rpg, 4 spg) made honorable mention.

The season may not be over quite yet for the Ottoville Lady Green, but now when they hit the hardwood for the state semifinals in Columbus on Friday, they'll do so with the D-IV Player and Coach of the Year.

Ottoville's first 1,000 rebounder has led the Lady Green to yet another PCL title and a long playoff run under the tutelage of the program's long-time mentor as the team sits at 27-0 heading into its game against Fort Loramie.

Siefker has been a monster on the court where she has set personal bests in points (443), rebounds (299), offensive rebounds (129), steals (61), assists (65), free throws made/attempted (115/167) and field goals made/attempted (164/297).

In her career, she has 1,356 points (second highest in the program) and a school-record 1,083 rebounds and 310 blocks. She's also appeared in all 97 games since her freshman year, helping the team amass a record of 92-5 over that span.

Siefker and her teammates helped Kleman reach a milestone win at the regional final where their 52-37 win over Arcadia was win No. 400 for the long-time mentor. Arcadia's Randy Baker was named co-Coach of the Year with Kleman.

Joining Siefker on the D-IV All-Ohio first team are Jill Blacksten (Newark Catholic), Karli Bonar (Shadyside), Shaye Thomas (New Madison Tri-Village), Sarah Cash (Lordstown), Sydney Clark (N. Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy), Jenna Burdette (Reedsville Eastern) and Arcadia's Miranda Palmer.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.